Update and Devo (psalm 7)

So to start, a small update. I haven’t forgotten about or given up on this blog. I’m currently writing another piece (though albeit slowly) and I’m really obsessing over it so that in itself is a journey lmao. In terms of content, I have ideas; I just have no idea how to execute them.

For now, I’d like to start sharing my devos. For those who don’t know what devos are, devos are short for devotions. Devotions (as I interpret them) are just daily meditations on the word [of God] (aka the bible). I’m not gonna post one every day but I think you can be assured there will be at least a few a week. In terms of what you can expect from my devos, sometimes I get some real good insight but often I don’t. It’s a journey so I hope you can join me on it. Feel free to email me or tweet out to me or something if you have something to say (idek if either of those things are listed anywhere on my blog. Ill make sure to get on that).

Before I share my devo, I’d like to talk a little bit about the process! I didn’t really do devos growing up so I didn’t really know how to do one. Everyone talked about how it was important to do them daily but no one ever explicitly explained how to do one. The way I’m currently doing them I just learned recently so I’m still trying to get the hang of it. So essentially, there’s three very simple questions you ask yourself on each read through of your passage:

  1. What stands out to me?
  2. What is God trying to tell me?
  3. What am I gonna do about it?

It’s straightforward and if you don’t get it, you’ll get the hang of it as I do devos or whatever. Anyways, I’m done explaining.

PSALM 7

This is a good one to start with. I really like it because I can’t relate to it at all. First post and I have nothing to write about! Exciting, ya? Let’s talk about 7:3-5.

3 O Lord my God, if I have done wrong or am guilty of injustice,
4 If I have betrayed a friend or plundered my enemy without cause,
5 then let my enemies capture me. Let them trample me into the ground and drag my honor in the dust.

These verses are just so weird. Two verses ago, David is literally coming to God and asking for protection from his persecutors. Persecutors who he claims will maul him like a lion and tear him into pieces. That’s hella intense and yet here he is at verse 3 telling the same God that “but if i suck just let me get wrecked”. Like, ‘if I have done wrong’ is a pretty big spectrum of things and he’s saying if he falls in that spectrum, God can just let him be mauled and stuff. So why? Why would he say that?

If I were me, I’d think from the perspective of how God is definitely all or nothing. Like, if you’re completely into God, completely born again through Jesus and living your life for him, then you’re saved. But if you’re not all in, then there’s nothing. Sure, you say you’re a christian, and to you,  Jesus was a cool dude that said good things and told us to be good people. Maybe he’s even God! Even then, that’s nothing.

Nothing less than the utter surrender of your life to God counts for anything. Because anything less is a life that still retains our former selves, and we know our former selves are sinful, our former selves still do wrong. And as David puts it, “O Lord my God, if I have done wrong… Let them trample me into the ground and drag my honor in the dust.” There is no substitute.

So let us remind ourselves each day that we need to fully rely on God. Not just a little bit. I know I need the constant reminder. Being told growing up that I needed to be better at this, better at that, has grown me into a person that needs to control everything myself. Anything you’re not controlling is something that can fail. Giving up control to someone else requires trust and vulnerability, it’s not risk-free. But if we believe in a God that is perfect (which I do), everything that happens on his end will work out so we just need to let him do his thing.

Not bad for unrelatable.

If you have any comments, anything to say. Feel free to contact me! Questions relating to faith are fine. Criticism about my writing style are fine. Thank yous for making your day are great (my ego can always get bigger).

Cheers.

 

Leave a Reply

