Devo (1 Corinthians 2:11-12)

11 No one can know a person’s thoughts except that person’s own spirit, and no one can know God’s thoughts except God’s own Spirit. 12 And we have received God’s Spirit (not the world’s spirit), so we can know the wonderful things God has freely given us.

Seems intuitive for the most part. I think it might be slightly weird that a concept like this is just intuitive. I was thinking about the Holy Trinity recently and I’m not gonna lie, I have basically no idea what the Holy Spirit does or what it’s function is within the trinity.

The thing I really want to focus on is verse 12 where it states that once you’ve received God’s Spirit, we can know the wonderful things God has (freely) given us. If we can only know the wonderful things God has given us if we have the spirit, the inverse would be we don’t know the wonderful things God has given us if we don’t have the spirit.

Without the lens that is the Holy Spirit, we are unable to know what God has given us.

Something I’ve been trying to do recently is being content with where I am, and with what I have. I’m really ambitious in a lot of the things I do, and sometimes, it consumes me. As a result, sometimes I push myself really hard to be content. It’s funny if you think about it; I recognize my ambition and I recognize its aggressively out of control. So my solution is to aggressively be content haha.

It works about as well as aggressively trying to fall asleep.

So does this really help with my current problem? I don’t think so. Not directly at least. For me, this is more of a reminder. A refocusing of what I’ve been doing. Not just making a checklist of all the good things in my life, but seeing how God has worked in my life.

!!!

Leave a Reply

